Dear White People: Season 1 (2017)

Plot: This series follows a group of students of colour at a University. The show highlights issues that still plague today’s “post-racial” society.

Created By: Justin Simien

Starring: Logan Browning, Marque Richardson, Antoinette Robertson, Ashley Blaine Featherson, John Patrick Amedori, DeRon Horton, Brandon Bell.

Screen Shot 2017-08-25 at 14.58.13

The show is based on the acclaimed film of the same name. I haven’t seen the film so I’m unable to compare the two but first of all, there were some aspects of the show that offended me and frankly, made me furious. I watched the first episode just to see what it was all about and I really liked some of the characters and so I wanted to follow their stories.

There are some scenes where these characters stand up to racism and it’s very empowering and I admire that. However, there are some scenes where they’re racist towards white people and I don’t think that is okay. I’m all for people fighting for their rights and everyone should be treated equally. If someone is racist in front of me then I will call them out for it because I don’t stand for racism but standing up for your rights whilst slagging off other people isn’t the right way to do it.

Screen Shot 2017-08-25 at 14.58.24

What annoys me about this show is they seem to categorise all white people and it makes me so angry. We’re not all the same. I liked that fact that America’s gun issues are raised in this show. That’s a good aspect of it, I just wish they didn’t put every white person in the same box. You can see it in the title. Dear WHITE People. It puts us all in the same category.

I feel like I’m the only person to get offended by this show but everyone is entitled to their own opinions. The show isn’t all bad, there are only a couple of scenes that offended me, the rest of it, I really enjoyed.

An entertaining and empowering TV show!

Leave a Reply

