It (2017)

Plot: Every 27 years an evil shape shifting clown emerges from the sewers and targets the children of Derry, Maine. Seven young outcasts pull together to fight against the evil clown, named Pennywise.

Director: Andrés Muschietti

Starring: Bill Skarsgard, Finn Wolfhard, Sophia Lillis, Jaeden Lieberher, Jack Dylan Grazer, Wyatt Oleff, Owen Teague.

Screen Shot 2017-09-13 at 16.15.52.png

Although the film isn’t scary it’s super creepy and there are some jump scares. Clowns are supposed fun but horror movies just make them so creepy. I feel like clowns in real life are going to go out of business due to pop culture. Personally, I’m not scared of clowns and they don’t creep me out in anyway so watching this film wasn’t hard for me. I just see clowns as people dressed up in costume.

Screen Shot 2017-09-13 at 16.17.24

Anyway, the film itself was really enjoyable and I loved some of the characters. They are developed really well. My favourite character was Richie, played by Finn Wolfhard, who is from Stranger Things because he came out with some really cocky lines. He was the funniest character to me. There is a character for everyone to be able to relate to, which makes the viewing experience better.

Bill Skarsgard, played Pennywise and I thought his portrayal of the character was fantastic. I’ve seen him in Hemlock Grove, which was a Netflix show but his acting never really stood out for me until this film. It really shows off his acting talents. His portrayal was very convincing.

Screen Shot 2017-09-13 at 16.16.05.png

The only downside to the film, for me, was the length. It didn’t need to be that long. Things felt a bit dragged out and I got fed up of nothing actually happening. Other than that though, I thoroughly enjoyed watching it. I feel like if you’ve seen the original you’re not going to like it because nobody ever likes a remake. They remade Dirty Dancing recently and that was dreadful. Leave originals alone. Fortunately, I haven’t seen the original It movie so I really liked this one.

Some of the cinematography in the film was stunning and very admirable. The soundtrack is something I am going to have to download because I thought it was brilliant and quirky. There were so many cool songs on there. Even the score was captivating.

You can listen to the soundtrack here: https://www.tunefind.com/movie/it-2017

Screen Shot 2017-09-13 at 16.16.35

It felt very 80s which is when it was set but very modern at the same time, in the way it was filmed and made. It also had a retro feel to it and I love retro things. Overall, I loved the film and it’s something that I would watch again and recommend to people when they’re looking for a horror film to watch.

A very creepy horror film!

One thought on “It (2017)

Leave a Reply

