Buried (2010)

Plot: A truck driver is ambushed and taken for ransom, buried alive in a wooden coffin, with only a few items to keep him alive. Will he make it out alive?

Director: Rodrigo Cortés

Starring: Ryan Reynolds, Robert Paterson, José Luis García Pérez, Stephen Tobolowsky, Samantha Mathis.

It’s a really simple film and I like the idea of it. The whole duration, one hour and a half, takes place inside the coffin. We never see the outside world which you’d expect to get boring because there’s not a lot of different shots that you can shoot inside a rectangular box. However, with the conversations the main character has on the phone, that is running out of battery, keeps the film alive. Some of the phone calls are stressful, tense and sad. Ryan Reynolds does a really good job considering his face is all you see the whole time.

The one good thing about the film is the building of tension. It’s there and it’s dominant and it doesn’t let up until the credits roll. You literally sit on the edge of your seat and pray for the character. He really makes you feel and root for him. It’s a great performance from Reynolds.

It’s not a film I’d watch again and I don’t think I’d recommend it. Although it was good, I just felt it wasn’t good enough. When it finished, I just felt like I’d wasted the past one hour and a half of my life when I could have watched something better. If you’re a fan of Ryan Reynolds then I’d say watch it.

An okay drama film!

3 thoughts on “Buried (2010)

Leave a Reply

