Trespass Against Us (2016)

Plot: Chad is still in the clutches of his criminal father. After his latest heist goes south, the police are closing in on him. Will he escape the clutches of his father and the police in time?

Director: Adam Smith

Starring: Michael Fassbender, Brendan Gleeson, Lyndsey Marshal, Rory Kinnear, Sean Harris.

I loved this film. I thought it was going to be good but it was better than I expected. I loved the cast, each of them perfect for their roles. Michael Fassbender is amazing as usual. Lyndsey Marshal plays Fassbender’s wife and I haven’t seen her in anything before but she’s really talented. She plays the character really well, you can really connect with her and feel for her.

trespass-against-us.jpg

I love crime films and this one is set in the British countryside. I can never not love a British film because I think they’re always truthful portrays of the subject that they’re about. I also love them because they feel more realistic for me because I am British. A lot of American films feel like they glamorise things because I’m not from there so I don’t know what the streets are like.

The film is different because it’s about a community that isn’t portrayed a lot in cinema, which is what makes it feel fresh. There are some brilliant scenes and it feels authentic. The family life these characters are living feels believable.

Trespass-Against-Us-Featured.jpg

I loved the ending because it was the perfect fit and it’s not a happy ending. It’s also not a sad ending either. Chad gets what he deserves and you’re kind of weirdly happy for him because you have hope that his life will be better off now. His family will be better off. The ending is fantastic and it’s a really touching and truthful film. It kind of has a Shane Meadows feel to it. If you enjoy his films then I’d say you’re more than likely going to love this film too.

An honest crime movie!

Leave a Reply

