Marvel’s The Defenders: Season 1 (2017)

Plot: Four of Marvel’s biggest heroes work alone. That is until one common enemy brings them together and forces them to work together in order to save New York City. Daredevil, Luke Cage, Jessica Jones and Iron Fist band together to form The Defenders.

Created By: Douglas Petrie, Marco Ramirez

Starring: Sigourney Weaver, Charlie Cox, Krysten Ritter, Mike Colter, Finn Jones, Rosario Dawson, Elodie Young, Elden Henson, Scott Glenn, Jon Bernthal, Rachael Taylor, Deborah Ann Woll.

defenders-netflix.jpg

As much as I love the MCU, I’ve only ever been crazy about the films. The TV shows have never been something that has appealed to me. I watched season one of Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D and then gave up, I got bored and the only thing I liked about it was because it had Phil Coulson in it. I also watched about eight episodes of the first season of Daredevil and gave up with that. The TV shows just lack something for me. I’ve seen a lot of bad reviews about Iron Fist so I don’t think I’ll attempt that one.

Even though I haven’t seen the solo films, I really wanted to give this show a chance because I love it when a group of heroes come together because you know it’s going to be big and explosive and that it was. It wasn’t hard to understand what was going on, either, considering I haven’t seen their solo outings, so if you’re like me and haven’t seen the other shows, you can easily enjoy this one.

defenders-mike-colter-charlie-cox.jpg

I loved the fact it only had eight episodes because the storyline was a lot tighter, it wasn’t dragged out so the show doesn’t have a chance to be boring. Cinematic shows like this work better as fewer episodes because it’s a lot more exciting.

The Defenders don’t actually become a foursome until episode three. What makes the episodes exciting before they get together as you follow each of these characters as they all investigate the same thing. What’s fun about when they finally meet is that they clash, obviously. They all have their own way of dealing with situations. The action sequences in the show can feel like you’re in the cinema watching a Marvel film. They bring their big screen skills to the small screen and it’s fantastic.

The show isn’t perfect but it’s extremely entertaining and a lot of fun. If you’ve seen the other shows then you’re not going to want to miss it. The conclusion at the end was a great and satisfactory ending. You can see where these characters are going to be heading next. I also loved the after credits scene. It was a trailer for Marvel’s new Netflix show The Punisher which is a spin off from Daredevil. The trailer looked really good but as it is a spin off I don’t think I’ll be watching it. Not unless I finish watching Daredevil first.

marvel-the-defenders-villain-sigourney-weaver-netflix_0

I love how big the Marvel Cinematic Universe is becoming, I just wish I loved the shows as much as the films because I’d love to be up to date with all of it. Overall, I’m pleased I watched The Defenders because it was very exciting and it was nice to see Sigourney Weaver in a TV show, she an incredible actress. I’m looking forward to see Marvel’s new show Inhumans is set to begin September 29th. I will give that show a go because it has some actors and actresses I like so hopefully I will like it as much as I did The Defenders.

I can’t see the second season of The Defenders coming for a couple of years yet, that’s if they do another season, because Jessica Jones and Luke Cage are currently in filming for season two of those two shows and then Iron Fist will probably get a second season. Daredevil is getting a season three which will go into production in October so I think we’ll be in for a bit of a wait.

An exciting new TV show where all your favourite heroes are together!

6 thoughts on “Marvel’s The Defenders: Season 1 (2017)

  1. intenttowin says:

    I just want to see more shows that appeal to a plot line, well developed characters and maybe a little romance. I tired to producers and directors thinking they can fill in sloppy work with some sex and we will still be happy about it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Merlin says:

      I rather think that that’s exactly what Marvel’s been doing, actually, with the plots and characters. As for romance… eh, some couplings I ship, and some I do not.

      Now, if you want to talk about problems of all of the above, I point to the Arrowverse! 😉

      Like

  2. Merlin says:

    Disagree. I love Agents of Shield! ‘Tis my favorite! 🙂
    I like Agent Carter, though the first season is better than the second, and I hate how they ended it. 😦
    I love all the Defenders’ series! 😀
    And I am very much looking forward to Inhumans, New Warriors, Runaways, and Cloak & Dagger. 😉
    And I wish they’d managed to do Most Wanted and Damage Control too! 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. KatieMai says:

      There’s so much to look forward to haha. Marvel are doing so much with their universe now. With all the different TV shows that they’re bringing out I think there’s something for everyone to enjoy. Im hoping I’ll really enjoy Inhumans I’ll probably give some of the other shows a go when they come out😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

