In The Dark: Season 1 (2017)

Plot: D.I. Helen Weeks returns to her home town to help her childhood best friend after her husband is caught up in an abduction case of two young girls. Returning to this town brings back painful memories for Helen, what is she hiding?

A 4 Part drama TV show on BBC.

Starring: Ben BattMyAnna BuringMatt King, David Leon, Georgia Moffett, Jamie Sives.

Screen Shot 2017-08-03 at 17.11.49.png

Although I thought the structure was odd, it worked and I really enjoyed the show on the whole. The first two episodes follow Helen as she is in her home town and they solve the crime that has been committed there. You also learn about Helen’s past. However, the final two episodes take place five months later and Helen is back living in her house with her partner. Basically, you get two different crimes that she sets out to solve within the four episodes. I thought it was unusual because usually, it’d be one crime throughout the four episodes. I enjoyed the first two episodes and the crime in them than the final two. However, the finale episode was intense and that delivered a shock.

Screen Shot 2017-08-03 at 17.12.52.png

Helen is the main character but sometimes I found it incredibly hard to like her. She has a really sad back story, one that you wouldn’t wish on your worse enemy but then you find out she cheated on her partner and it’s hard not to like her partner so you begin to dislike her. She wrecks her family for a stupid fling and I hated her for it because I liked the guy she was with and Helen is pregnant and she doesn’t know who the father is. Her partner is desperate for this child but it might not be his. It’s just sad and it annoyed me.

At times I thought the show was quite predictable. I liked that Helen’s baby bump was huge (I’m not exaggerating) because you see all the time in films and TV baby bumps that are small and cute but this felt more like a realistic bump.

If you’re into detective drama’s then this is definitely for you. It delivers a final shock in the final episode that you probably won’t see coming. It’s sad in places and it’s incredibly intense and entertaining. It also has some beautiful locations. I love watching British shows and recognising the places they’re filming in.

Screen Shot 2017-08-03 at 17.19.18.png

As for my thoughts on a possible season 2, I don’t see the point in one. It didn’t end on a cliffhanger. Everything is tied up so if they did bring it back it’d be a new story but Helen is a mum now so there isn’t a need for a new season. I also think there are so many detective based TV shows that it’s going to get boring. This feels like a one off so I hope they don’t bring it back.

A fantastic drama series!

Leave a Reply

