Despicable Me 3 (2017)

Plot: After Gru and Lucy are fired from the Anti-Villain League, the minions want him to return to the life of crime. Refusing to do that, Gru decides to fly to Freedonia to meet his long lost brother. Gru must take down villain Balthazar Bratt when he steals the biggest diamond in the world.

Director: Pierre Coffin, Kyle Balda

Starring: Steve Carell, Trey Parker, Pierre Coffin, Kristen Wiig, Nev Scharrel, Dana Gaier, Jenny Slate, Russell Brand, Julie Andrews, Steve Coogan.

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 20.23.11.png

As I write this, I’ve just come back from the cinema and I’ve still got a massive smile on my face. My smile started as soon as Bad by Michael Jackson started playing two minutes into the film. It was funny all the way through.

I absolutely loved the soundtrack of the film. There was the Michael Jackson song, then there was Take On Me by A-ha. Pharell Williams featured on a lot of songs. I always love the Despicable Me theme song, it’s just great so I was happy when that came on.

despicable-me-3-miranda-kristen

I felt sorry for Lucy because she has been thrown into becoming a mother to three girls and you can see that she’s struggling but she soon finds her feet. It was so cute when Agnes called her mum for the first time.

Agnes was as cute as ever but she sold her unicorn teddy and that’s such a huge part of the films that it made me really sad. I thought she’d get it back in the end but she didn’t. However, she went in search of a real unicorn and she thought she’d found one but instead, it was a goat but she’s happy with the goat so I guess it makes up for the teddy. I will miss the unicorn teddy though.

gru-and-the-minions-are-back-in-the-hysterical-despicable-me-3-trailer.png

One thing that annoyed me about the film is they never mentioned the main minions. There was a minion called Mel but where was Dave, Bob and Kevin? I missed them, Kevin is my favourite minion and I wanted to see him. I’m assuming Dave, Bob and Kevin are still off exploring on their own as they went off in the spin-off film, Minions. That’s the only explanation I can think of.

Even though the film didn’t feature my favourite minion, I still enjoyed it as much as the other two films. They don’t get worse, I don’t really think they get better, they’re all on the same level.

My favourite moment of the film was when Gru was talking about Margo and he said she’ll always look 12 and be 12 because it’s true. It’s an animation so she will always look like that because they don’t grow old. I guess you have to watch it to find it funny. There was so many laugh out loud moments. The minions delivered plenty, two of the rub their bums together at one point which was cute. They’re just adorable and I can’t get enough of them. The scenes where the minions were in prison was hilarious to watch.

Screen-Shot-2017-04-19-at-1.30.53-PM.png

Of course, I’d love a fourth film because this is my favourite animation franchise but if they do a fourth where will it end? I don’t want them to over do it and ruin it. If they end it here then I’d be happy. They can always do another Minions movie. I’d love to see that and the characters from Despicable Me could have small cameos. I guess time will tell.

A perfect third instalment in the Despicable franchise!

2 thoughts on “Despicable Me 3 (2017)

Leave a Reply

