47 Meters Down (2017)

Plot: After travelling to Mexico, two sisters go diving in some shark-infested waters. With them both locked safely in a cage, what could possibly go wrong? Not long after they enter the water, the cage falls from the rope which attaches them to the boat. The sisters are stranded at the bottom of the ocean with sharks circling.

Director: Johannes Roberts

Starring: Claire Holt, Mandy Moore, Matthew Modine, Yani Gellman.

I’m a sucker for shark attack films so when a new one comes out, I’m up for giving it a go. However, this one didn’t do it for me. It takes about 20 minutes before they even enter the water and then the sharks just don’t even attack. There wasn’t really any tense or close-shave moments. It was not very climactic at all. It failed to get my heart pumping.

Screen Shot 2017-06-29 at 13.18.59.png

The two main characters were very annoying for me. Obviously being in that situation you’re going to panic and scream a little but I just wanted to tell them to shut up. Overall, I’m quite disappointed. The premise is promising and exciting but I just felt a bit bored in places and wanted more tense moments. I wanted to be on the edge of my seat and I didn’t get that. Maybe it’s just me and other people did get that, this is just my opinion and how I felt whilst watching it.

Personally, there are better shark films out there so I’d give this a miss and go watch one of them.

Doesn’t blow your mind!

One thought on “47 Meters Down (2017)

Leave a Reply

