As You Are (2016)

Plot: Set in the 90s, the film follows the lives of three teenagers caught in a love triangle and a murder mystery.

Director: Miles Joris-Peyrafitte

Starring: Amandla Stenberg, Charlie Heaton, Owen Campbell, Mary Stuart Masterson, Scott Cohen.

I watched this film at a cinema in Portugal because I was at a film festival over there last week and I thought it was absolutely incredible. One of the best films I have seen in a long time. It’s amazing that the director is only 23 because he’s still so young. The film won an award at Sundance, that’s such a huge achievement for him. He has a bright future ahead and his name is definitely one to look out for.

rehost201692136ab3943-8270-4981-baf1-bbc88fd789dd

I loved the era. The setting and the costume design all worked really well. As I was born in the 90s, I do love a good 90s film and especially when it’s of the grunge texture. The casting was excellent. I was shocked to discover how many faces I actually knew because I thought I wouldn’t know anyone. Amandla Stenberg played Rue in The Hunger Games and Charlie Heaton is in the Netflix hit show, Stranger Things.

The story is unexpected and unpredictable which is what makes it so exciting and compelling. I would 100% recommend this film because it is fantastic and artistic and just so damn good. It’s a beautiful film with so much heart. A near perfect independent film.

A compelling gritty coming of age drama!

One thought on “As You Are (2016)

Leave a Reply

