Me and Earl and the Dying Girl (2015)

Plot: Loner Greg surprises himself when he befriends a classmate who has been diagnosed with Leukaemia. It’s not long before they become inseparable.

Director: Alfonso Gomez-Rejon

Starring: Olivia Cooke, Thomas Mann, RJ Cyler, Connie Britton, Molly Shannon.

A very cute and enjoyable film. I know it’s about a dying girl but it puts you in a good mood, or it did me anyway. It’s different as well because the two main characters actually don’t fall in love. Even though Earl is in the title, I didn’t really see the need for the character. He wasn’t in the film that much and didn’t really have a very significant role. If he wasn’t in the story then I don’t think we’d be missing anything.

meandearl3-xlarge.jpg

*****************SPOILERS*****************

I was really annoyed because Thomas Mann, who plays Greg, narrates the film and more than once he says that the girl doesn’t die. You get to the end of the film and guess what? She dies. It didn’t make me cry though so I don’t think you’d need the tissues at the ready. It’s sad but it’s not done in a way that makes you cry, thankfully.

landscape-1434576906-elm070115intel3-4-002.jpg

It is a very good film. I absolutely loved it, I loved the characters, they were hard to dislike. It’s a film that gives you a satisfying ending. There are no boring sections in the film either. I enjoyed it all.

Funny and highly moving!

Leave a Reply

