Candy (2006)

Plot: Two young lovers enter a downward spiral when they get hooked on drugs and struggle to get clean. Based on the novel by Terry Southern and Mason Hoffenberg called Candy: A Novel of Love and Addiction.

Director: Neil Armfield

Starring: Heath Ledger, Abbie Cornish, Geoffrey Rush, Luke Davies, Tom Budge.

Candy-2006

While there are a lot of films out there with a similar premise, I think this one is definitely worth watching. I fell in love with these characters straight away and rooted for a happy ending. I knew that seemed impossible though because do films ever have a happy ending when drugs are involved? I half expected one of the main characters to overdose and die but thankfully, that didn’t happen.

candy

I’ve loved Heath Ledger for a long, long time. 10 Things I Hate About You is probably my favourite film of all time. I cannot express my love for that film enough. I thought his performance in this film was brilliant and so was Abbie Cornish’s. They both created troubled characters and portrayed them truthfully. The chemistry between these two is undeniable. There are some really beautiful, sad, powerful scenes in this film. There is a whirlwind of emotions you go through whilst watching this film.

2-Candy-quotes

The most heartbreaking scene, for me, was the death of their baby. Cornish’s character has to give birth to their baby, knowing it isn’t going to survive. It’s not shocking that the baby died because of the strain on her body. She was trying to get clean whilst pregnant. She also took a lot of drugs in the early stages of the pregnancy. However, it was still sad that the baby died and you could see how much the little one meant to both of them. They were heartbroken by the loss. I think if the baby survived they would have gotten clean because they had a reason to. After the baby died, they just went on another destructive path, especially Candy.

Heath-Ledger-in-Candy

I thought the parents of Candy were unhelpful and not supportive. They knew she was hooked on drugs but didn’t do anything to help. They just shouted at her all the time and judged her lifestyle. I think if they were more supportive in her getting clean, then Candy could have done it. The parents just sort of let her get on with it.

It’s a film that will probably affect you and stay with you for a long time. It’s hard to forget. Everything about the film is great, the acting, dialogue, direction. It’s an experience to remember. I think this is going to become a film that I watch over and over again because I just loved it so much.

An incredibly touching and heartbreaking film!

One thought on “Candy (2006)

Leave a Reply

