Prison Break (Season 5)

Plot: Season five picks up seven years later, after Michael’s supposed death. When Lincoln discovers Michael could still be alive, he sets out on a journey for answers and to bring his brother home.

Year: 2017

Created By: Paul Scheuring

Starring: Wentworth Miller, Dominic Purcell, Sarah Wayne Callies, Robert Knepper, Amaury Nolasco, Rockmond Dunbar, Paul Adelstein, Augustus Prew.

I have to say I’m truly satisfied with this season. Before it aired I was a bit wary because they’d killed Michael off and bringing him back seemed unrealistic. However, they did a really good job with the story. This show has always been a little far fetched so season five was bound to be too. When the show ended and Michael died, it took me a while to get over it but now he’s back and I couldn’t be happier. The show stays true to its original story.

prison-break-season-five-episode-five-phaeacia_0

Prison Break is one of my all-time favourite TV shows. Season one was just insanely good and so was this one. I was not disappointed. Some episodes were better than others but overall there was only one episode out of the total nine that dragged a bit. From the get go, you’re thrown straight into the action and delivers some incredible plot twists. These twists are mainly in the finale which is one incredible episode.

3444A61B00000578-3594038-image-m-28_1463455274220

It was lovely to see these characters again. However, there is a new dynamic because Sara and Michael have a child now. I was most excited to see how the son would fit into the story and I think he is a welcome new character. He acted as the driving force for the main characters, especially Michael.

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 13.51.23

Whip, played by Augustus Prew, is my favourite character from this season. He is so loveable and not to mention, loyal to Michael. I rooted for him all the way through the season. I kind of wished he was in all of the seasons. It was nice to see some returning faces from the previous seasons but none of them had major roles. Not like Michael, Sara and Lincoln.

*******************SPOILERS*********************

Unfortunately, not everyone got their happy ending in the finale. T-Bag was back in this season and we find out that Whip is his son. We see a different side to T-Bag when he meets his son. He actually cares and maybe even loves his son. We’ve not seen this warm side of this character before. However, in the finale Whip is killed and I’m furious about it. I loved this character and now he’s dead and I kind of feel sorry for T-Bag.

gallery-1478015951-prison-break-t-bag

T-Bag ends up back in Fox River State Penitentiary which is where the season first started. He ends up sharing a cell with Poseidon who is responsible for all of the events this season and T-Bag kills him. I’m so thankful Poseidon finally got what he deserve. I hated that guy. It was nostalgic to see this season end where the series started. If this is the final season, then it was a very touching way to end the show.

Michael finally got his happy ending. The final scene we see him in is with his wife, son and brother. I’m glad he can finally be free after everything they’ve all been through but in season four it was revealed that he was terminally ill? There was something wrong with his brain that was going to kill him. This was never mentioned in season five so that’s my only issue with this season. I hope he doesn’t die, I don’t think I could take him dying all over again so I’m quite glad they just ignored this issue. It is a bit of a plot hole though. Unless I missed something?

 A fantastic season with a terrific storyline!

Leave a Reply

