Children of Men (2006)

Plot: The human race are no longer able to reproduce. However, a woman discovers she is pregnant which would be the first baby to be born in 27 years.

Director: Alfonso Cuarón

Starring: Clive Owen, Julianne Moore, Michael Cane, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Charlie Hunnam, Clare-Hope Ashitey.

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 16.24.02

You know you’re in good hands when you’re watching an Alfonso Cuarón film. However, I’m more excited by the fact the film’s cinematographer was Emmanuel Lubezki. He is my hero and if I ever got to work with him, my dreams would come true. I think he is the best cinematographer of our time. Cuarón and Lubezki together is a great combination. They’re both visually inspiring humans.

wiw-children-of-men-julian

I really liked Julianne Moore’s character so I was quite upset when they killed her off so early on. She wasn’t really needed for the rest of the story but her relationship with the main character was exciting to watch.

It’s a really cool take on a new futuristic world where mankind is becoming extinct. I thought the ending was handled really well. Everything about this film is smart and thought out. It’s a well-told story that keeps you gripped throughout. I wonder what the end of the world will look like? Will it be like this?

A fantastic sci-fi film!

Leave a Reply

