Ghost in the Shell (2017)

Plot: Major is a human brain inside a manufactured body. She is the first of her kind. Terrorism has reached a point where they can hack into people’s mind, it is up to Major to stop them. She also discovers that her life was stolen from her and vows to recover her past.

Director: Rupert Sanders

Starring: Scarlett Johansson, Takeshi Kitano, Pilou Asbæk, Michael Pitt, Juliette Binoche.

I haven’t read the comic but the trailer looked really cool and so it appealed to me. I enjoyed the film more than I thought I would. I might not have understood it all completely but I still got the gist of it and was able to follow the main character through the story.

I loved the colours within the story. It was very bright and vibrant. It made the world different from our real one. It felt like a video game in a way. The technology with inside the universe was fascinating. Johansson really gets into character. She walks like a robot in every scene and never drops character which is expected. She’s a very talented actress.

scar-jo-ghost-in-shell

I’m glad I’ve watched it but it’s nothing to rave about. There are some pretty cool action sequences. The action is the best part about the film. I’ll never watch it again and I’m not in a hurry to recommend it to anyone. The trailer is better than the film itself.

It’s not a great film. It’s missable.

One thought on “Ghost in the Shell (2017)

Leave a Reply

