Big Little Lies (Season 1)

Plot: Told through the lives of three women, the show follows them through their seemingly normal life but underneath the surface is a lot of drama threatening to spill out. Including murder.

Year: 2017

Created By: David E. Kelley

Starring: Reese Witherspoon, Nicole Kidman, Laura Dern, Shailene Woodley, Alexander Skarsgård, Zoë Kravitz, Adam Scott, Kathryn Newton.

https://vimeo.com/194208589

It’s an honest mystery story that spans across 7 episodes. It was very Desperate Housewives. I am so glad it only got 7 episodes because it would have been far too slow if it were anymore. From the get go you don’t know who’s been murdered or who the murderer is. I think that was a really unique and interesting way of telling the story. It was different. A lot happened in each episode and the way the pilot episode was set up, you can’t not continue watching. It’s easy to become invested in this story and the characters.

alexander-skarsgård-hbo-big-little-lies

Alexander Skarsgård is like one of my favourite actors of all time, ever since True Blood. His character in this was not a good one. However, that somehow hasn’t put me off him. I thought he acted the role really well and I loved the chemistry between him and Nicole Kidman.

There were so many famous actors and actresses in this show. Like every character you see, you recognise them from somewhere. I do think there were perhaps too many characters, some were unnecessary but it all came together in that final episode.

episode-06-1920

It’s a very glamorous TV show. Fancy houses, beautiful women, sweet little children. It was kind of envious. Their lifestyles were extravagant but beneath the surface of each household lied a dark secret. Each of the three women had a secret of their own.

I loved the way the story was told because it had lots of flashbacks but they weren’t very long. They were snippets that appeared in the middle of the story every now and then. They were quick but showed enough to get you thinking about what it is it’s trying to reveal to you.

episode-01-1920

The finale episode wasn’t amazingly shocking. The person who died, I expected that but I didn’t expect the murderer to be who it was. I don’t understand why they lied to the police, it was self-defence, in a way. They were all just defending themselves, they could have told the truth. There was one shocking moment in the finale that was a massive plot twist. I really didn’t see it coming but I’m not going to spoil it for anyone.

I’m not sure whether the series needs a second season. It can be left where it is and conclude with one season because it wasn’t left on a cliffhanger. However, if they do create a second season I wouldn’t be disappointed, I just don’t know where they’d take the characters from here. I wouldn’t mind either way.

Compelling. Dark. Twisted.

Leave a Reply

