Fast and Furious 8 (2017)

Plot: The team must pull together once again to stop a mutual enemy, Cipher, when she turns one of their own against them.

Director: F. Gary Gray

Starring: Vin Diesel, Dwayne Johnson, Jason Statham, Michelle Rodriguez, Scott Eastwood, Tyrese Gibson, Kurt Russell, Ludacris, Charlize Theron, Nathalie Emmanuel, Elsa Pataky, Helen Mirren, Luke Evans.

******************SPOILERS*******************

MV5BMjZlNDk0NGMtZDM5OC00NmM5LWI0MzEtNGY3NmI1NzNkMmE3XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNDUzOTQ5MjY_._V1_SY1000_CR0_0_1650_1000_AL_

From the moment I saw the trailer for this film, I knew it was going to be epic and that it was. From start to finish, it was action packed. There’s no time to breathe. It’s one hell of a rollercoaster. As soon as I found out Dom turned on his family, I knew there had to be a good reason for it and there obviously was. It was extremely predictable because Dom and Letty have a conversation about having kids a few minutes into the film and from then on, I thought he’s going to have a kid and that’s why he’s doing it. Then my mind raced to who it could be with and there was no other person than Elena. I don’t mind that these films are predictable because I love the characters so much. The ending was also predictable because Dom named his son Brian. Even though I saw that coming, it still broke me and I cried my eyes out. That was the second time I’ve cried in a cinema.

I thought the ending was very touching and there was also an earlier scene where they mentioned Brian and Mia’s name and I’m glad they still acknowledge them in the fast world. I never want those characters to just be forgotten about.

NELoQH89EdqkOS_2_a

Helen Mirren didn’t really have a huge part but I really liked the character and thought she added to the film. I think her character really changes how we feel about her son, Deckard Shaw. It makes him seem more human. My favourite part of the film was when Deckard was saving Dom’s son, those scenes were brilliant. The kid was so cute and just sat there smiling away to his music while all this gun fighting was going on. I actually liked Deckard in this film and I’m glad he helped the team out but I can’t forget that he killed Han. It really bothers me that Dom shook his hand at the end and Hobbs had a laugh with him. Are they forgetting what he did in the previous film?

The same cycle happens over and over again. There is a cop and he meets this team and then gives up his job to work with them. It is a little bit cliché and annoying. It happens with Hobbs in this film. It’s like he’s taking Brian’s position. Another thing I’m worried about with these films is how many characters they’re introducing. There were so many in this film and I’m worried it’s going to get too crowded.

capture-jpg

Having said that, it was a fantastic film and I loved the storyline. I knew Elena was going to die. It just had to happen to push the narrative forward and I think they wanted to create a family for Dom and Letty and with her out of the way they can both be parents. It is sad that she’s dead but I was never a huge fan of her.

A lot of people hate these films and give bad reviews about them but I honestly love them and although the first one will be my favourite because that’s where it started, I do think they get better with each film. They’re definitely more action packed every time and the family dynamic they have is envious. I couldn’t hate these films if I tried. It’s by far my favourite film franchise.

Fantastic. Fast. Thrilling. A must see!

4 thoughts on “Fast and Furious 8 (2017)

  1. adithyashark says:

    Thank you KatieMai for for following my posts at ayudha ezhuthu. And your usage of language here is stupendous. I would suggest that you check my other movie blog out, silverscreenreviews.wordpress.com.

    Looking for an early reply from you,
    Regards,
    Adithya Ramani

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

