Split (2016)

Plot: Kevin has 23 different personalities but it soon becomes clear that there is still one personality, yet to submerge.

Director: M. Night Shyamalan

Starring: James McAvoy, Anya Taylor Joy, Betty Buckley.

SplitTheBeast

Ever since this film came out at the cinema, I’ve been dying to see it. Now I finally have and I really enjoyed it. I feel like I’m a true McAvoy fan because I’ve watched him on screen ever since he appeared on the British TV show Shameless. Since then, I’ve seen him appear in many blockbusters and films and he’s never once delivered a disappointing performance, for me anyway. Split is definitely one of his finest pieces of work. Playing several different characters in one film is challenging but he pulled it off. My favourite personality was Hedwig, the little boy. I think that was his strongest character, he played him perfectly.

s3.jpg

The storylines in this film were captivating. It wasn’t just about this lunatic who kidnaps three girls. There’s also a backstory to the main female protagonist. This is told through flashbacks. This story was definitely needed for us to feel anything towards this girl because she is kidnapped right from the start. Not knowing who she is, we don’t care too much but after discovering her backstory you start to really route for her.

It’s a smart film with an ending that only an M. Night Shyamalan fan will understand. If you haven’t seen his film Unbreakable, then the ending will probably go straight over your head. I always feel safe when watching a Shyamalan film because although I haven’t seen all of them, the one’s I have seen have never disappointed me. He’s an excellent filmmaker.

An excellent film!

Leave a Reply

