13 Reasons Why

Plot: A young high school student receives 13 tapes from Hannah Baker, a girl who recently committed suicide. Based on the novel by Jay Asher.

Year: 2017

Created By: Brian Yorkey

Starring: Dylan Minnette, Katherine Langford, Kate Walsh, Miles Heizer, Ross Butler, Alisha Boe.

This is really important and this show will stay with me forever. Once I started, I couldn’t stop. Each episode got closer and closer to the truth and the anticipation just grew and grew. Now I’ve reached the end and I don’t know what to do with my life. There’s so much I have to say about this TV show so forgive me if this blog is a little jumbled.

First of all, the structure was done well. Spreading each tape out over each episode and the way they connected the two timelines was unique. The show gives you so much to think about. Everything you do, every action is a repercussion of something and causes ripples that continue to go on. Everything that happened in this story causes something else to happen. It’s all about the what if’s. The show also shows you the importance of caring and looking out for the person who is quiet. It doesn’t take much to ask someone if they’re okay every now and again. This show is special because it highlights so many problems within high schools and all of them are true representations. People are harsh and treat people so disrespectfully. High schools are horrific, so much bullying goes on and this show explores all those issues and brings them to the surface.

13-reasons-why-s01e11-web-x264-flatulence-large

Some of the characters you absolutely hate and some of them you absolutely love. My feelings for Hannah Baker changed a lot throughout the course of the 13 episodes. In early episodes I felt like she didn’t deal with her problems very well because she never confronted them but towards the end, I felt fully invested in her story and I really empathised with her. Those final few episodes were horrific and I regret any disliked feelings I had towards her at the beginning. She was an innocent person that was bullied and violated in the worst possible ways and she didn’t see a way out. She thought suicide was her only option. It’s tragic.

**The rest of this blog will contain spoilers so don’t read on if you haven’t watched it yet!**

*************************SPOILERS*************************

Screen Shot 2017-04-13 at 00.36.42

Clay was there for her the entire time. That’s one thing I can’t get over. If she’d have just opened up to him about everything, he would have been there. He was stupid for not admitting how he felt about her because it might have changed things. Maybe she wouldn’t have been raped if they had gotten together because she wouldn’t have been at that party that night. But this is just what if’s. What’s done, is done, unfortunately.

I sympathise with Clay the most because I don’t think it was fair to put him in the tapes because he didn’t do anything wrong. Yeah, he could have spoken to her more but he’s never been with a girl so it’s understandable that he’s nervous. He has to live with the fact that he didn’t express his feelings for a girl and she ended up killing herself. Even if that wasn’t her only reason for doing it, she still put that on him and he has to carry that around with him forever. Some of the people on those tapes deserved it but he didn’t. Definitely not. He lost the girl he was in love with. She caused him so much pain by killing herself. I get that she was in pain and the only way she could relieve that was by death but I feel bad for Clay.

Screen Shot 2017-04-13 at 00.37.36

Hannah also didn’t turn to her parents and I feel like she could have but instead,  she decided to go to the school counsellor, which was a huge mistake. That final episode where it revealed her conversation with him made me really angry. She told him she was raped and it was like he didn’t want to hear it. He really didn’t seem to care and he wasn’t a good listener. His mind was definitely elsewhere. So many people failed Hannah and it really angers me but I feel out of all the people on the tapes, he was the worst. He knew how she felt and he ignored it. Out of all the people, he failed her the most.

My biggest issue with this show was the fact none of the students who had listened to the tapes cared that there was a rapist in the school. Why were they all covering for him? All these students needed to do was tell the truth at the time and some of the bad stuff that happened, might not have happened.

Also, Hannah wanted the tapes passing on to her rapist. Wouldn’t he have just destroyed them? Did she not want justice? I also don’t understand why Justin or someone else who watched the tapes didn’t just destroy them instead of passing them on. They all had a secret they didn’t want getting out, yet they kept passing on the tapes.

170331-news-13reasonswhy

There are several questions after the finale episode. THERE WAS NO CLOSER! Everyone is left hanging off a cliff (not literally). I want to know what happens. Most importantly, I want to know if Bryce got what was coming to him. He really disgusted me, the way he just raped girls and got away with it. I was so happy when Clay managed to record a confession, even if it isn’t a full confession. He got something. I wanna know where all these characters go from here.

Screen Shot 2017-04-13 at 00.46.20

Hannah should have left the tapes for her parents. They were suffering so much. Everyone knew why she did it apart from them. I’m glad Tony gave them a copy of the tapes at the end but I wanted to see them after they’d heard them all but we never got that. It would have been nice to witness the closure that they will get from those tapes.

It would also be nice to receive an explanation on why Tony was the trusted one in all of this. Hannah and he never seemed to have any sort of relationship so why did she leave the tapes with him? That was never tied up and I’m curious.

13reasonswhy-hplg

There’s so much more I could say about this show but I will stop my rant there or I will never stop. Honestly, think it’s one of the best TV shows I’ve seen. When shows execute real issues like this it just reflects how bad today’s society is and I think it sends a really important message. However, I do think it’s a bad representation of suicide as well because it sort of glamorises it but that is all I’m going to say because going into detail is risky and can cause a lot of debates.

Screen Shot 2017-04-13 at 00.38.25

After you watch this show, I think you’ll take away a lot of lessons. I do hope they conclude the season but I think a second season will just ruin the legacy that I think this show will leave behind but I guess we’ll see what happens. I do really want to see Clay again. I cried my eyes out the whole way through the finale episode. It really hits you that this girl actually kills herself. I didn’t like the fact they actually showed her cutting her wrists, it made me feel a bit sick but I get why they did it. The whole season built up to that moment.

I feel lost now I’ve finished this show and I feel very sad. I knew she was going to die but I still didn’t want it to happen. The show is not something I will forget easily and I am so going to binge watch it again soon! I think it’s the type of show where you can pick up on so many things that you missed on the first viewing so I think it’s definitely worth watching a few times. Do you ever wish you can unwatch something and then watch it again for the first time all over again? That’s how I feel about this…

Screen Shot 2017-04-13 at 23.46.08

One last note – be careful what you say to people because you have no idea what is going on behind closed doors! Be kind, always!

You can binge watch the first season instantly on Netflix now so get watching!

2 thoughts on “13 Reasons Why

Leave a Reply

