Nymphomaniac: Volume II

Plot: Joe’s journey continues in the second part of this drama film. We see several events unfold and finally discover how she ends up where she is in present time.

Year: 2014

Director: Lars Von Trier

Starring: Charlotte Gainsbourg, Shia LeBeouf, Stacy Martin, Stellan Skarsgård, Mia Goth, Willem Dafoe, Christian Slater and Jamie Bell.

The first hour of this film was really good and enjoyable just like Volume I, however, after the first hour, it just got a horrific and hard to watch. Volume II lasts three hours and to be honest, it didn’t feel like three hours but it was just a very difficult watch. If you haven’t seen this film and don’t want anything spoiling then I’d recommend you not read anymore so stop reading now.

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 17.14.06.png

There is a scene that, probably about two hours in where the main character performs a coathanger abortion and I’ve seen these done before in TV and other stuff but never to this extent and I don’t think I’ll ever recover. It was utterly horrific and I had to look away. She shoves several knitting needles inside herself and then proceeds to put a sharpened coat hanger inside her where she then manages to pull the foetus out. The camera angles allow you to see everything and I mean everything. That’s why it’s so harrowing. I don’t mind seeing coathanger abortions to an extent, I just never want to actually see a female put that inside herself and see her scream in pain. This scene kind of ruined the film for me because I just felt sick and uncomfortable for the rest of it.

Another part that was quite disturbing to watch was the whipping scenes. They were brutal and harsh and realistic which is why it was hard to watch. The whips actually made her bum bleed, it was cruel and grim.

Jamie-Bell-in-Nymphomaniac-II

The film also get’s extremely weird in this second part and I just feel like it really didn’t need to go that far. I’m not even going to discuss the ending. You just sit there when the credits roll thinking, what the hell?

The first film, for me, was a real eye opener and I really enjoyed watching it and I didn’t find it disgusting or that weird but this one took it to a whole new level and I didn’t enjoy the experience. I’ve never felt so ill whilst watching a film before. If I was to suggest these films to anyone then definitely watch the first one but give this second one a miss, it’s not worth the pain of sitting through. It was far too graphic.

Rating: 6/10.

See my blog on Volume I here.

https://creators.co/@KatieMai/4225482

Leave a Reply

