American Pastoral

Plot: During the Vietnam War, a mother and father struggle to cope after their teenage daughter rebels and commits terrorism.

Year: 2016

Director: Ewan McGregor

Starring: Ewan McGregor, Jennifer Connelly, Dakota Fanning, Peter Riegert and  Rupert Evans.

As his directorial debut, Ewan McGregor has made a brilliant film and he was still able to pull off a stunning performance whilst having this extra pressure of directing it. I thought him and Connelly were the perfect married couple. Both were great performances. I’m super happy McGregor is now directing, I think it really suits him and if this one is anything to go by, I’m sure he’ll be directing a lot more films in the future.

I did think the trailer was better than the film. The trailer felt really unique and heart-tugging. During the film, my heart didn’t tug once. I think the trailer will always be one of the best I have ever seen. I loved the fact it didn’t have dialogue. I think the song with the images in the trailer are just stunning and complement each other very well. It’s the type of trailer that you watch and you instantly want to watch it. That’s how I felt anyway.

rs-american-pastoral-b260cf9b-06df-4b6d-8e79-b6a12a415310

That’s enough about the trailer. The actual film itself dragged on longer than I think it needed to be but it was very interesting. The story itself is intriguing. It is based on the novel of the same name Philip Roth which I have not read so I’m unable to compare the two. After watching the film, though, I think the book would make a very fascinating read and the novels always offer more detail.

It’s got some tough material in this film and I think a lot of parents will be able to relate to the parents on the screen. I think the teenager is a lesson for teenagers in the audiences because she rebels and does bad stuff and it only ends up hurting herself in the end.

giphy

The film is far from perfect but if you invest yourself into it, it’s definitely worth watching all the way through. At the end of the film, you find out some shocking and unexpected news about the teenager.

Rating: 5/10.

https://creators.co/@KatieMai/4211303

Leave a Reply

