The Edge of Seventeen

Plot: Wanting to give up on life after her brother and her best friend start dating, Nadine is given new happiness in the form of a boy.

Year: 2016

Director: Kelly Fremon Craig

Starring: Hailee Steinfeld, Woody Harrelson, Blake Jenner and Haley Lu Richardson.

I was really looking forward to this film when it first came out and I’ve only just managed to watch it but I was really let down by it. The trailer looked so promising but I just found myself extremely bored. It tried to be funny but it failed. It definitely teaches people important life lessons about loving yourself and showing you that not everything you think is bad is the end of the world. You can find happiness in the most unexpected places.

Screen Shot 2017-02-05 at 15.57.41.png

It’s quite a realistic film and it’s one that many teenagers will be able to relate to. Unfortunately, for me, it’s a film I’ll remember for being boring. There was no actual point to it. The main character was just very over dramatic. I get that she feels lonely but threatening to kill yourself because you’re unhappy about a situation that isn’t even that big of a deal, is a bit extreme.

I’d recommend this film to teenagers but it’s not that entertaining. It’s worth watching just the once.

Rating: 4/10.

Leave a Reply

