Evil Dead

Plot: Five friends are stranded in a remote cabin when a storm hits. They find a book of the dead and summon up a demon which then takes possession of them. It is then a fight for survival.

Year: 2013

Director: Fede Álverez

Starring: Jane Levy, Bruce Campbell, Shiloh Fernandez, Jessica Lucas, Lou Taylor Pucci and Elizabeth Blackmore.

b40966bc30d5b2df2cc4baf8a575059f

This is another horror film that is part of a franchise that is rebooted and remade so many times that it’s ridiculous. I’ll never understand why good things can’t be left alone. Anyway, I kind of enjoyed this one, it was entertaining but there was nothing unique about it. There weren’t any likeable characters really so when people were being killed off I really didn’t care. It feels like this type of scenario has been done so many times. A group of people in a remote cabin. We’ve all seen a film based around that before.

“The most terrifying film you will ever experience.”

This was written on the poster and I have to completely disagree. I wasn’t scared one bit, I don’t even think I jumped at any point in the film. There are way scarier films out there than this. I do get why people would like this film, though if you like gore then it’s perfect. I do love gore but I wanted to be scared and I wasn’t so it was a bit of a let down for me. The gore was the best part, there were some moments that were sickening. Specifically, when she cut through her tongue with a knife, that was horrific.

9ae698e043fe2ad5524f430ba7b263de

I thought the pace was really good, the possession started almost instantly, as soon as they got to the cabin. It’s always good when they dive straight in with all the crazy. I’m kind of annoyed with the person who survived but I’m not going to spoil that.

Rating: 4/10.

https://creators.co/@KatieMai

Leave a Reply

