Sherlock: The Final Problem

Season 4 Episode 3

THIS ARTICLE CONTAINS MAJOR SPOILERS!!!

The final instalment of the latest season of Sherlock aired last night and a lot of people are confused. This show is one of the smartest shows on TV, I will argue that with anyone. It’s always had the ability to surprise us and deliver some of the most shocking moments ever. This latest season hasn’t failed to do that either. The second episode of this season is proof of that.

538578-sherlock-s04e03

However, this final episode was a bit too much. I get what they were trying to do, they tried making it the smartest episode yet. I’ve never struggled to keep up and understand an episode of Sherlock before but after the credits rolled on this one I had to take some time to understand the events. It takes away the amazing quality of the show because I have to wrap my head around it. I am going to try and help people who still don’t understand because I think I’m clued up now.

So, Sherlock comes face to face with his sister for the first time since knowing she exists. It’s quite an exciting moment. However, Sherlock doesn’t remember her, all his memories are gone and it turns out he’s the one that changed his memories because he was too traumatised by what really happened. His sister killed his best friend. The part that wasn’t clear was whether he was a brother or an actual best friend. Well, to clear that up, he was Sherlock’s best friend. She killed him out of jealousy.

screen-shot-2017-01-16-at-00-19-55

Sian Brooke is the actress who plays Sherlock’s sister and honestly, she is so talented. She has played four different roles and pulled each off effortlessly. Her latest appearance was mesmerising. I will probably have nightmares. She plays the character so well.

It turns out Euros was in cahoots with Moriarty and it’s all Mycroft’s fault. He arranged for Euros and Moriarty to meet five years previously to the present time and in those five minutes these two masterminds cooked up this whole plan that played out in this episode. It was amazing. People were dying left right and centre. To plan all that in five minutes takes two geniuses. I still can’t get over the fact that Mycroft allowed this unsupervised visit. I actually screamed when Moriarty descended from the helicopter, I thought he was actually alive but it turns out it was just a flashback and he is actually dead. I am gutted he is still dead because I love the character but, to be honest when shows bring people back from the dead all the time it’s just silly and boring.

screen-shot-2017-01-16-at-00-20-31

When Sherlock, John and Mycroft were having to save people and people were dying. When the whole plan was playing out it ended with them being tranquilised and they woke up somewhere completely different. I was confused as to whether the events that had just happened actually happened but they did. I don’t think I’m making any sense right now but the episode is so difficult to explain.

Also, there is a plane at the beginning of the episode and Sherlock and gang are trying to save the little girl on it but that’s not actually real. It’s a metaphor for Euros’s mind, I think.

screen-shot-2017-01-16-at-00-19-21

People are saying it is the best episode of Sherlock ever. I really want to say the same but it was just a little messy. So much was going on. Don’t get me wrong, some bits were brilliant, the bomb scene at the start was really impressive. When Moriarty arrived to the song I Want To Break Free by Queen is probably going to be my favourite scene from the whole show, EVER.

Screen Shot 2017-01-16 at 00.18.39.jpg

Everybody, well the main characters, got out alive which is always a good thing. It didn’t look good at some moments but we got there in the end. Sherlock’s sister is actually fully mental. She’s psycho.

The ending worries me. It wasn’t a cliffhanger, it was tied up and there was a voice over from Mary about the Baker Street boys and it felt awfully final. It definitely felt like a series finale, not a season finale. I love this show so much and would hate to see it end. It still has a lot of gas but Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman have other commitments now so I see why this would be the final season. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see now. I hope it returns because I want to see Euros again. She’s dangerous.

screen-shot-2017-01-16-at-00-33-32

To sum up the episode, if it was clearer on the points then it would have been the best episode ever. Unfortunately, people struggled to keep up and it sort of ruined the experience for us. I’m going to watch the episode again as I always think I will pick up on things that I missed in the first viewing. It was a big bang of an episode, though, like the craziest ever and the most daring and I think it was a good way to end the season but it just didn’t pay off. To be honest it made me feel dumb and one of the show’s writers telling viewers to go read a children’s book if we don’t understand is just really offensive. It was not a good way to end the season. I feel disappointed, unfortunately.

https://creators.co/@KatieMai

3 thoughts on “Sherlock: The Final Problem

  1. Richard says:

    Nice review. 🙂
    I think Sian Brooke should win every award going for her roles this season, she was just exceptional.
    I think season four has been the weakest of the four seasons so far, it was as if Gatiss and Moffat were trying to hard to make things complex.
    The ending definitely had the final finale vibe. I hope not. I hope they get back to what makes the show so successful. Solve individual cases, with all the cases in the season adding up to something spectacular.
    Here’s my review if you are interested… https://rwh92.wordpress.com/2017/01/15/tv-review-sherlock-season-four/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. KatieMai says:

      Thank you 🙂 I completely agree with you I think sian deserves an award! If the do come back for another season then I hope too that they solve individual cases. This season kind of lost what the show is supposed to be about.
      I will check out your review for sure 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

