Passengers

Plot: After their ship malfunctions, two passengers, who are in hibernation until the ship arrives at its destination, awaken 90 years too soon. Jim and Aurora realise they will die on this ship and slowly begin to fall for each other. However, the ship starts to deteriorate and fail, putting the lives of 5000 other passengers at risk. Can Jim and Aurora save the ship?

Year: 2016

Director: Morten Tyldum

Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Chris Pratt, Michael Sheen and Laurence Fishburne.

This was the last film I went to see at the cinema in 2016 and I think it was a pretty good choice. Before seeing it I’d seen a lot of bad reviews but I loved it. It maybe a sci-fi film but it’s also a romance and I think the romantic element over-powered the sci-fi. I really hope Jennifer Lawrence and Chris Pratt work together again because they were great to watch. Their personalities in real life just mirror each other which is why it works so well.

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 13.26.52.png

My favourite character though has got to be Michael Sheen’s, Arthur. He was kind of adorable, he’s just always there doing the same thing. He is a robot that is kind of like a therapist for Pratt’s character. I was kind of annoyed at him when he revealed the secret to Aurora but it wasn’t really his fault. He doesn’t have the same feelings as humans do and didn’t really understand what he was doing.

passengers6

*SPOILERS*

I think the storyline kind of surprised me. The plot everywhere was saying that two people wake up 90 years early on a spaceship when in actual fact it was Jim who woke up and then he was the one who woke Aurora up because he was lonely. It’s understandable why he did it but it was extremely selfish. I felt bad for her, especially when I heard what she wanted to do and why she was on the ship.

The ending was incredible because it was a happy ending but also a sad one. Some people watching it for the first time might think that they’re going to find a way to put themselves back into hibernation and then they’ll wake up when the ship lands and then live happily ever after but that doesn’t happen. I’m glad that didn’t happen. They still got to live happily ever after because they die together but they die on the ship when they’re old. It’s really sad but at least they had each other.

passengers4

There are so many great moments in this film, I’m looking forward to seeing it again. I thought it was a fantastic film and the visuals were mesmerising too.

Rating: 8/10

https://creators.co/posts/4176130

Leave a Reply

