Watchmen

Plot: Adapted from the critically acclaimed comic book, Watchmen is a DC superhero film where a war between America and Russia is imminent. When the death of The Comedian occurs, the superheroes are brought together again to figure out who the murderer is and ultimately save the world.

Year: 2009

Director: Zack Snyder

Starring: Malin Åkerman, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Jackie Earle Haley, Patrick Wilson, Billy Crudup, Matthew Goode and Carla Gugino.

watchmen003

With a running time of 2 hours and 40 minutes you’d expect it to drag but that doesn’t happen. You don’t even realise how much time has past because the story is so engrossing. It is a long film but it needed to be. There is so much story to be told and it’s told in a non-linear way which makes it exciting. The film takes you back in time to certain points in the timeline to explain these characters backstories. It’s a great way to develop the characters because you engage so much more with them. If they weren’t to have a backstory then you’re not going to relate in any way to them. This is why the film is so entertaining because you have several characters which mean you have the main storylines and then several other little ones.

The special effects are great. The world in which these characters live in is definitely visibly different to the real world. It has that comic book, bright lights feel to it. It’s certainly neo-noir. The best effects come towards the end of the film but I won’t go into detail, I don’t want to spoil anything for you. It was so fascinating to watch as well because of the way it was shot. There were some beautiful, artistic shots and the title sequence like other superhero title sequences is up there with the best. Check it out below:

I felt the cast did a great job with these characters, I’ve not read the comics so don’t know much about them but I really enjoyed watching them and found the characters very engaging. I’m not a fan of Åkerman but I liked her in this as Laurie Jupiter. This is probably the first film I’ve actually found her likeable in. As for Jeffrey Dean Morgan, I couldn’t stand him but that was because of the character he played. He acted superbly but his character wasn’t very likeable. I absolutely love him as an actor. I believe he’s one of the most talented actors on our screens at the minute. He’s busy currently playing Negan in TWD so I have a soft spot for him.

comedian-gun-watchmen-12

Downloading the soundtrack is top of my list after watching this film. The best for me were Desolation Row by My Chemical Romance and The Times They Are a-Changin’ by Bob Dylan. I felt the film had a really quirky soundtrack which always seems to be the case with superhero films.

It’s a remarkable film and I don’t usually say that about DC superhero adaptations but I thoroughly enjoyed this one. It’s a very bold film and I feel like Snyder pulled out all the stops to pull off a great superhero film and that’s what it is. It’s great! I fully recommend it to every superhero fan.

Rating: 8.5/10.

One thought on “Watchmen

  1. disperser says:

    I read both the comics and watched the movie. I really liked both, and my hero is Rorschach. The one thing I did not buy in either the comics or the movie was the logic of Ozymandias plan nor the endorsement of it by Dr. Manhattan. But, as movies go, it was a small glitch.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

