Nosferatu

Plot: The film is an adaptation of the gothic novel, Dracula. Count Orlok (the vampire) summons Hutter to his mansion. Once Hutter discovers Count Orlok is a vampire he want’s to leave the castle but he can’t escape. His wife is in grave danger and he must find a way out to save her.

Year: 1922

Director: F. W. Murnau

Starring: Max Schreck, Greta Schröder, Gustav Von Wangenheim and Alexander Granach.

This is a German Expressionism film, it is silent. I wouldn’t usually watch a silent film from this time period but doing a film course has really opened my eyes. I’m watching such a wide array of films these days and even though this is a film that I wouldn’t watch again, it’s definitely an interesting one. It’s in black and white and even though it is more for the arty side of the film, it’s got a good narrative.

maxresdefault

I get that people are going to be put off by this film already but you don’t know if you’re going to like something until you try it so I recommend that people give it a watch. You never know you might enjoy it. I personally, wouldn’t want to watch any German Expressionist films again, just because it focus more on the artistic side of filmmaking whereas I prefer an entertainment film. It is very good artistically but it failed to give me the escapism I desired when watching it. That is the only downside.

If you’re an aspiring cinematogprapher then I’d reccommend watching this film purely for the shots and the framing of them. It could be inspiring.

Rating:

Leave a Reply

