Snowden

Plot: This film is based on the true story of Edward Snowden who leaked confidential files from inside the NSA. By doing so he became a fugitive. This film explores the reasons why he did it and how he did it.

Year: 2016

Director: Oliver Stone

Starring: Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Shailene Woodley, Zachary Quinto, Nicholas Cage, Melisso Leo and Rhys Ifans.

snowden_movie_review_002-1200x675-c

I wasn’t a huge fan of this film. It’s my least favourite Gordon-Levitt film. Don’t get me wrong it was a very intriguing story, one that I’m glad I now know more information about but the characters felt forced. I felt like he and Woodley lacked chemistry. I felt a bit uncomfortable during their scenes. Back to the story, I think I’ll probably start covering up my webcam, especially if I’m getting undressed. It’s really creeped me out.

It’s a true story so it didn’t need to have extravagant effects. The film delivered on what it was supposed to do in terms of the narrative. Unfortunately, I didn’t find it that entertaining, it was more informative but I guess that’s what it was supposed to do. It’s not a film that I’ll watch again. If you don’t know much about this story then I’d definitely recommend watching it, it’s very interesting and will open your eyes to a lot of stuff withing the Government.

Rating: 5/10.

Leave a Reply

