Doctor Strange

Plot: After a terrible accident that leaves Dr Steven Strange without the use of his hands, he is unable to perform surgeries and can no longer do what he loves. He searches and searches for options to heal his hands and winds up at an enclave where he learns about power. He ends up fighting against evil in order to save the world.

Year: 2016

Director: Scott Derrickson

Starring: Benedict Cumberbatch, Tilda Swinton, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Rachel McAdams and Mads Mikkelsen.

doctor-strange-benedict-wong-as-wong

This was a surprise hit with me. I’d read about it, seen clips on youtube but somehow I’d never seen the trailer. Regardless of this I still really wanted to see it so I went to the cinema and I absolutely loved it. This is probably the first film I’ve seen on the big screen without seeing the trailer first. I didn’t even realise until I was like outside the cinema that I hadn’t seen it.

The best part about this film was the effects. At the start, I was just a bit like “yeah, okay. This works.” Then they just got extremely better. It really did feel like I was in a different world. There’s one effect with an eyeball that was stunning and really clever. Look out for it if you haven’t seen the film yet.

I loved the cast. There’s always humour in a Marvel film and this one didn’t disappoint. I loved the humour in this one. The man in charge of the library was the funniest and his relationship with Dr Strange is quite cute.

ea88a284-e0d5-4a36-a054-2c3f2b949f0d

*SPOILERS*

I kind of expected Tilda Swinton’s character to die as it felt like she was the most important of the film as she is where the story originates from and obviously the main protagonist is Dr Strange so he has to become the most important. Her death makes way for Dr Strange to become who he’s supposed to become.

The after credits scene is one of my favourite after credits scenes ever. Just because of how simple it was and the fact that I love Chris Hemsworth. Yes, Chris Hemsworth was in it as Thor and they were discussing Loki and how they need to find his father. This revealed that Dr Strange is going to be in the next Thor film which I’m really excited about. It might just be a cameo but it’s still exciting. I didn’t think I was going to be a huge fan of this character but I absolutely love him and can’t wait to see him again.

Rating: 8/10.

Leave a Reply

