The Conjuring 2

Plot: Set in 1977, Ed and Lorraine Warren travel to Enfield, England in order to help a family experiencing paranormal activity. The family consists of a single mother raising 4 children. Her two daughters are the ones most affected by the paranormal spirit in their homes.

Year: 2016

Director: James Wan

Starring: Patrick Wilson, Vera Farmiga, Madison Wolfe, Frances O’Connor, Lauren Esposito, Simon McBurney, Franka Potente and Maria Doyle Kennedy.

*SPOILERS*

99974594conjuring_2-xlarge_transgsao8o78rhmzrdxtlqbjdgtt0gk_6efzt336f62ei5u

At the beginning of the film, Ed and Lorraine are in Amityville and I’m sure you all know what happened there. Then they travel to Enfield and using a title card on the film it says that this is their most diabolical case. What’s so diabolical? I didn’t think it was that bad, not as bad as the case in the first film, that’s for sure. I just didn’t feel particularly threatened. I think the reason they called it diabolical was because Ed was in danger. From the beginning of the film it kind of foreshadowed that he was going to die but let’s be honest did we ever really believe that he was going to die? I didn’t.

Even though I have just slated the film I did actually enjoy it. It was very entertaining. There was only one moment that I jumped and to be honest I can’t even remember why. I wish it was scarier as I think I would have loved it then. I love watching really scary films in the dark.

99974532conjuring_2-xlarge_trans5aky6kltchdyq3tvty_32cueenhxmpq1zmpochfg3qq

One of the reasons I like these films is because of the chemistry between Ed and Lorraine. The actors shine on screen as a loved-up couple who are genuinely still in love. I really like these characters, they have so much story to them it’s intriguing. I do hope they get another outing in a sequel as these films are very enjoyable. I’m not sure whether I prefer this one to the first one, I think I enjoyed them both equaly.

I love horror films that are based around a true story because I find it really interesting. Obviously the Enfield haunting isn’t something new for me. I’ve read about it before and found it really interesting. I think films like this always make you question whether you believe in the paranormal or not. What’s unique about this story is that it questions the reality of it too. Especially in this particular case as at a certain point in the film it’s believed that the girls are in fact making it up which is what happened in the true story.

the-conjuring-2

The film gets quite intense towards the end because it’s obviously the climax and we await in aticipation to see if Ed is going to die or not. It’s a great ending and the demon in the film, the nun if you like, might not be dead because they’re planning a spin-off film called The Nun. However, as the Warren’s killed it at the end of this film, I’m thinking The Nun could take place before this case but I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

I really don’t belive in the paranormal. I never have and I don’t think I ever will. Ouija boards don’t scare me at all, I highly disbelive that they work. Do you believe in the paranormal? I would love to know what other people think. Even if it’s just your opinion about this case. Leave your opinions in the comments section!

Rating: 7/10.

Leave a Reply

