The Girl On The Train

Plot: Rachel Watson catches the same train every day and she passes the same houses each time. One of the houses resides a couple, whom she watches and envies. “They’re the embodiment of true love.” However, one dreadful night leave’s the young woman, who lives in the house, missing and Rachel blacked out due to being so drunk. Who is responsible for this woman’s whereabouts? Is Rachel guilty?

Year: 2016

Director: Tate Taylor

Starring: Emily Blunt, Hayley Bennett, Rebecca Ferguson, Justin Theroux, Luke Evans, Allison Janney and Lisa Kudrow.

gallery4-5717c33a14c70-1

The book was better! That’s all I keep thinking. I’m so disappointed. I was on the end of my seat reading this book, literally, all the way through it but the film lacked that intensity. It was set up all wrong. You didn’t get that sense of whodunit like you did with the book. No one really had the motive to kill her in the film until near the end, whereas with the book, literally everyone had a reason to kill her. By the time everyone has a reason for wanting to hurt her in the film, the actual person who did it is revealed.

If you watch this without reading the book I feel like you’re going to enjoy it more because you don’t have any expectations. I was expecting a lot and unfortunately it didn’t deliver. I thought Emily Blunt did the character justice, her performance was great. One thing that was missed out in the film was her sleeping with Megan’s husband, Scott. They didn’t include it, it wasn’t needed as it wasn’t a vital piece of the story but I felt like Scott had less of a role in the film than he did in the book. He should have had a bigger role, after all, he is the missing woman’s husband.

57f42a005865a-image_

I thought it was quite boring to start off with, it was very slow and to be honest, the pace never picked up. It needed to build up and build up, right up until the culprit is revealed. If they’d have done that, I think it would have worked better. There wasn’t any real build up which was a shame. I felt like the characters were very unlikeable. Rachel was probably the only one people liked. They were just under-developed.

The timeline was very confusing. It just went backwards and forwards with no definitive structure. I always enjoy films with non-linear storylines but this one was just all over the place. It jumped around too much. The trailer was definitely better than the film.The best part about the film is Blunt’s performance. I was so looking forward to this film but I found myself wanting it to end quickly. If you haven’t read the book then I’d definitely recommend reading it as it’s probably one of the best thriller’s out there, I just wouldn’t recommend the film.

Rating: 6/10.

Leave a Reply

