The Usual Suspects

Plot: Kint convinces the police that Keyser Soze drew him and a few other men into a million dollar heist that caused and explosion and a few survivors.

Year: 1995

Director: Bryan Singer

Starring: Kevin Spacey, Benicio del Toro, Gabriel Byrne, Stephen Baldwin, Kevin Pollak, Chazz Palminteri and Pete Postlethwaite.

339251

This is one of those films that I’m sure everyone has heard of it and probably most people have seen it. Bryan Singer is one of my favourite directors so when I found out he directed this film it was a nice surprise. I always know I’m going to enjoy his films. What I loved about this one was the story and the way it was told. It was non-linear and we were being told the story first hand by the main character. I thought it was an excellent way to tell the story and the use of flashbacks to tell it were very engaging. I also loved the fact there was a voice over. Films with voice overs always feel more personal because we’re more involved with the character that is doing the voice over.

Let’s talk about the best part of the film. If you haven’t seen it then I suggest you stop reading now and watch it because you don’t want this one spoiling for you.
*SPOILERS*

70b10856362c8c01bcde1b6bf5427278.jpg

I knew there was a twist at the end when I watched this movie and honestly I didn’t know what it was going to be. Whilst watching it I assumed that Kevin Spacey’s character might be a bad guy but I didn’t expect what happened to happen. It was such a good twist. It turns out that Kint is, in fact, Keyser Soze. The built up to it as well in such a chilling way, it was fantastic to watch and the film ends with him going free and I felt myself laugh at the detective because he said earlier on that he’s smarter than Kint. This is obviously not true. He had him right there and just let him walk free because he was too blinded to see the truth. I honestly loved the ending.

It’s a noir film done right. One of the best crime films ever made. Very stylistic and gritty.

Rating: 8/10.

Leave a Reply

