What Lies Beneath

Plot: Norman and Claire have the perfect marriage. Or do they? Oblivious to the fact that her husband betrayed her with another woman, Claire goes about her life as if nothing is wrong. However, she starts hearing voices and seeing a woman in her home but when she tells her husband he brushes her off, not believing her.

Year: 2000

Director: Robert Zemeckis

Starring: Michelle Pfeiffer, Harrison Ford, Diana Scarwid and Miranda Otto.

I love this film because I was actually left shocked by it. I think it’s very smart and it keeps you guessing. Some people may find it predictable but I was very entertained by it. I love Michelle Pfeiffer, she’s someone I’ve admired for many years so I’m always going to watch a film with her in it and I’m probably going to enjoy it. I’m not a huge fan of Harrison Ford, I don’t like Star Wars. Please don’t kill me for saying that but it is true. I don’t like them. I thought he played the role really well. He’s very deceiving and you get to hate him which I liked.

what-lies-beneath-2.jpg

The ending is quite shocking. I first watched this film when I was young so didn’t really guess what was going to happen but like I said above it is predictable so if you’re not young the ending is probably what you expected all along. It’s still entertaining, though, even if you guess it and it’s very intense. Some strange things happen, some quite shocking but that’s what makes it so enjoyable to watch. It’s exciting and you can’t wait to see what happens next.

*SPOILERS*

I found the ending kind of cute. Even though Harrison Ford’s character dies, he kind of deserved it. It’s just cute because his wife and the person he had an affair with stick together and she helps aid in his death. It;s nice that they came together in the end, even if the person he had an affair with is dead too. So much goes on in this film it’s hard to explain it all, I will just say, watch it because it’s great.

Rating: 6/10.

Leave a Reply

