Bait

Plot: After a tsunami hits, people are stranded inside a supermarket, they devise a plan to get out. However, they soon realise they’re not alone. There is a great white shark trapped with them, threatening to take their lives. Now they must try and escape without getting into the water.

Year: 2012

Director: Kimble Rendall

Starring: Xavier Samuel, Phoebe Tonkin, Sharni Vinson, Cariba Heine, Julian McMahon and Richard Brancatisano.

I really enjoyed this film and I wasn’t expecting to. What makes me really happy and only fellow ‘H2O Just Add Water’ fans will understand, is that there are two cast members from that show in this film. Pheobe Tonkin, who is also in ‘The Vampire Diaries’ and ‘The Originals’, and Cariba Heine. They were both mermaids in ‘H2O Just Add Water’ and I loved them in that and that show so it was nice to see them together again, even though they had no scenes together. There was no one really that famous in this film. They were all characters from TV shows. There’s Julian McMahon, who played Cole, in ‘Charmed’. Then there’s Sharni Vinson who starred in ‘Home and Away’. I thought it was a great cast, I think I knew all of them.

maxresdefault

Half of the cast are inside the store and the other half are in the parking lot, which is underground. There are two sharks, one inside the supermarket and one in the carpark. I loved the tension in this film. There were moments where I wanted to shout at the screen. I was on the edge of my seat. It’s a great film and you will constantly be entertained.

One thing that annoyed me was the effects but because the film is so enjoyable I can look past it. It’s just the effects. The effects of the tsunami were very unrealistic and you could tell it was fake. Having said that, the sharks looked quite realistic and if I’m completely honest the sharks had a bigger part so I’m glad they seemed more realistic than the other effects. Ther tsunami scenes only lasted a couple of minutes so it wasn’t a major problem. It’s not a smart film but it’s entertaining and that’s the main aim of this and it definitely achieved that.

Rating: 6/10.

Leave a Reply

