Me Before You

Plot: Lou loses her job and needs to find another one fast to help out her family. She is hired by the Traynor’s to care for their son, who was left paralysed after an accident two years previously. She finds it difficult to settle in when he continues to be cold towards her. The film is adapted from the novel of the same name by Jojo Moyes.

Year: 2016

Director: Thea Sharrock

Starring: Emelia Clarke, Sam Claflin, Matthew Lewis, Jenna Coleman, Charles Dance and Janet McTeer.

How adorably cute. This film really hits you in your heart. Not only do you fall instantly in love with these characters, you find yourself completely invested in the outcome of the film. Get the tissues ready because you’re going to need them. I balled my eyes out at the end. I loved Lou’s fashion sense in this film. She was so cute and extremely adorable, you can’t not love her. As for Sam Claflin’s character, you just want him to be happy. His personality was witty and intriguing. I loved the character which is why the ending was so hard. Clarke and Claflin were great together.

maxresdefault-2

I thought the film was a bit slow to start with but once it got into it you’re glued to the screen. I haven’t read the book because I only read a certain genre but I can imagine how great it is after seeing the film. I don’t think it’s the best romantic drama film I’ve seen, it wasn’t as good as I thought it was going to be but I still really enjoyed it. I thought the ending was quite quick, they didn’t dwell on everything which I thought was quite interesting. Films similar would have dragged it out more.

I always get excited when a film is directed by a female because as most people should know there is a lack of female directors and generally females in general in the filmmaking industry. I was quite surprised when I found out this was directed by a female but it was a pleasant surprise.

Rating: It could have been a lot better but the cuteness was all there and it tugs on those heart strings. 6/10.

Leave a Reply

