The Boy

Plot: In need of some cash, Greta takes a job as a Nanny in a remote house in a village. She’s stunned when she arrives to see that the little boy she is tasked with looking after is actually a life-size porcelain doll. She is given a set of rules to abide by but she breaks all of them, leading to some unexplainable occurrences, that lead her to think the doll is alive.

Year: 2016

Director: William Brent Bell

Starring: Lauren Cohan, James Russell, Jett Klyne, Rupert Evans and Ben Robson.

This is probably the creepiest and weirdest film I’ve seen all year. I don’t even know where to start. The parents of the doll lost their own child and then the doll appeared and they treated it as their own. It’s so strange. When you first see them treat it you think they’re crazy which they probably are. This film is just comical, I found myself laughing at the doll because it was just so weird and it was funny seeing it sitting at the dinner table like a part of the family.

la-et-mn-the-boy-review-20160123.jpg

After weird things start happening and Greta starts following the rules so that they stop happening, I got a bit creeped out because she had to kiss it goodnight and I actually found it disturbing. I don’t really know what to think of this film, not sure if I actually liked it because it was just so strange. It was very entertaining and intriguing to watch. I was definitely hooked until the end but did I enjoy it? I don’t know.

I’ve never seen Lauren Cohan in anything other than The Walking Dead and I definitely preferred her character in this. However, why she stayed in that house after finding out the boy was a doll I’ll never know. I’d be straight out of there. She even got locked in the attic and still stayed. It’s a doll it doesn’t need looking after, just take the money and go.

*SPOILERS*

the-boy-photo-5

I’m going to have to talk about the ending because it was the most bizarre thing ever. Greta’s ex came and he was very aggressive. He picked the doll up and smashed it. That’s when the crazy starts. The wall explodes and then a hand appears and it’s the kid, only he’s not a kid, he’s grown up and he’s alive. He never died like they all thought. He was so creepy, he wore a mask that looked exactly like the doll and he spoke with a child’s voice. I would recommend this film to anyone who likes the weird stuff, I don’t think I’ll be watching it again, though. Once is enough. What I don’t understand, though, is why his parents killed themselves? I get that they didn’t want to return but killing themselves was a bit extreme. They could have just stayed where they were and never returned.

Rating: 5/10.

 

One thought on “The Boy

Leave a Reply

