Green Room

Plot: A punk-rock band and a young woman are trapped in a locked room when a murderous group target them, surrounding them so they have to fight their way out.

Year: 2015

Director: Jeremy Saulnier

Starring: Anton Yelchin, Patrick Stewart, Imogen Poots, Alia Shawkat and Joe Cole.

It starts off a bit slow but because it has a short running time of only 1 hour and 34 minutes it gets into the action after about 15 minutes. Once the action started the pace stayed the same which was good. The characters spend more time trying to figure out what to do than there is fighting but it’s still entertaining. If you have a really weak stomach then I wouldn’t recommend this film. There is a scene where one of the characters’ arm is literally hanging off and it’s quite disgusting.

960

I’m not really sure how I feel about this film. The cast were great and I feel kind of ashamed because it took me ages to realise the bad guy was Patrick Stewart. I hope I’m not the only one that thinks Patrick Stewart does not look like Patrick Stewart in this film. I didn’t look into this film before I watched it so I had no idea what it was about or who was in it but when I saw Anton Yelchin, I felt sad as he died in June. He’s a superb actor and I’m sure he was a wonderful man so it’s very sad that he’s past away at such a young age as well. RIP Anton Yelchin.

As for the storyline, I didn’t really get it or why they were wanting to stage this crime scene but it was entertaining. I liked the violence, it was graphic and gruesome. It didn’t really turn my stomach but that’s because the graphic scenes were very far fetched and unrealistic. Like when one of the guys got shot at the end he kept on walking and then he was shot in the head and he still managed to pull the trigger on his own gun before he actually died. I’d say I enjoyed the film but I wouldn’t watch it again. If you’re a fan of violence and crime thrillers, films with one location, then this one is for you.

Rating: 6/10.

If you could check out my latest video on youtube I would really appreciate it, Please click here to watch it. Thank You 🙂

Leave a Reply

