Before I Go to Sleep

Plot: After being left for dead, Christine is unable to form new memories. Every time she goes to sleep she forgets everything that she learned that day and wakes up thinking she’s young and got her whole life ahead of her. Every morning her husband, Ben must tell her everything. She becomes acquainted with a doctor who tells her to keep a video diary. She learns more about her past and starts to question everything. Who can she truly trust? Someone is lying to her. The film is based on the novel of the same name by S. J. Watson.

Year: 2014

Director: Rowan Joffé

Starring: Nicole Kidman, Colin Firth, Mark Strong, Anne-Marie Duff and Dean-Charles Chapman.

Before-I-Go-To-Sleep-Trailer

I almost bought the book but I decided to watch it instead. I can imagine the book being amazing and 10 times better than the film. After all books are always better. However, the film was really good and had a twist that I did not see coming. I can’t read the books after I’ve seen the film, especially ones with a twist because it ruins the intensity and anticipation. The book won’t be as good now I’ve seen the film. I’m glad I watched it though, it was very intense in place. I found myself feeling quite scared at the end.

I hate it when I can’t guess the twist and unfortunately in this I got it wrong. It was a really good twist. The pace of the film was really fast. I felt it just got on with it and didn’t drag it out and although she loses her memories I didn’t feel it was that repetitive, which was good. I’d definitely recommend this film if you’re a thriller fan. I love my thrillers, especially psychological and although it’s not the best one it’s definitely a good one. It’s got a really interesting premise.

Rating: 6/10.

Leave a Reply

