The Conjuring

Plot: In 1970, Mr and Mrs Perrons and their five children move into farmhouse unbeknown to them the evil that lies inside. After realising something sinister is happening in their home they summon the Warrens, a married couple to their home to fight away the supernatural.

Year: 2013

Director: James Wan

Starring: Vera Farmiga, Patrick Wilson, Lili Taylor, Joey King, Ron Livingston and Mackenzie Foy.

the-conjuring-1024.jpg

I really enjoyed this film and it was really intense and quite scary. There are a lot of scenes where you might find yourself covering your face or hiding behind the sofa, it’s quite jumpy. I thought the storyline was carried really well. There are films that are similar but I was just really drawn into this story and I absolutely loved the Warrens. They were so cute. Vera Farmiga and Patrick Wilson work really well together. I’ve always been a massive fan of Vera Farmiga, she’s an amazing actress.

There’s a scene towards the end where Mrs. Warren is running through the corridor and then she runs back and I loved the camera pan and how it started off upside down. It really made it more exciting. I really liked that shot. When she ran back the camera went the opposite way and started off the right way and then ended up upside down.

movies-like-the-conjuring

James Wan. I’m a huge huge fan! I think he’s brilliant, that’s all I need to say. If you’re into horror movies then watch this because it’s honestly quite frightening and they’re the best horror movies. There’re too many awful horror movies out there now and this is not one of them. I’ve seen too many bad ones this year, it was nice and refreshing to finally find a good one that I thoroughly enjoyed. I always find children creepy in horror films but the kids in this weren’t bad at all. It was a very good film, something I’d love to watch again.

Rating: 7/10.

Leave a Reply

