Kill Bill: Volume 2

Plot: Picking up where the first film left off, The Bride tracks down her ex-boyfriend Bill, who tried to kill her whilst pregnant with his child. After finding him she makes it her mission to kill him.

Year: 2004

Director: Quentin Tarantino

Starring: Uma Thurman, David Carradine, Daryl Hannah, Michael Madsen, Lucy Liu, Chai Hui Liu and Samuel L Jackson.

Contains minor spoilers

It started off excellent. I loved the black and white sequence where they’re in the church and they’re showing the wedding scene from the first film in which The Bride almost dies. I love how it was shot. My favourite one was when the camera was behind Rufus (Samuel L Jackson) and he was smoking and you were looking on to the rest of the characters. It looked really good. I especially liked the part where The Bride meets Bill again outside the church and they walk up to each other really slowly. I love how the dialogue was delivered in that scene too. Then after this scene, it went back into colour and got on with the film.

1164881__1

I have to admit that I preferred the first film to this one. I love violence so I enjoyed the violence in this second one as I think it had a lot more but I just didn’t enjoy it as much. It was good how the films were brought full circle.

David Carradine’s performance was stunning. I don’t think I’ve watched any of his films but he was amazing in this. I think he makes the film. Uma Thurman is great but he makes it better. The ending scene between these two characters was a real treat to watch. They did a real good job and it was exciting to see it unfold at the end.

Kill Bill Vol 2 - 2

I love the part when we’re taken back in time to when The Bride discovers she’s pregnant because she’s so dangerous and capable of so much but this is the part when you realise she’s only human. An assassin shoots through the hotel door in an attempt to kill The Bride before The Bride achieves what she was sent there to do and in order to not get killed she begs on behalf of her baby. It was nice to see that other side of the character.

Rating: 6/10 On a whole these two films are great but if I’d have to choose the first one would be my favourite.

One thought on “Kill Bill: Volume 2

  1. disperser says:

    I agree; the first one was better. In part, for me, because the premise was simpler and the focus was — whatever the reason — singular. The second movie brings in elements that detract from that simplicity.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

