The Choice

This is my last blog for 2 weeks as I am going on Holiday tomorrow. I will be back on the 28th July.

Plot: Travis likes his life how it is and doesn’t want to settle down. That is until he meets his new neighbour, Gabby. The two can’t deny their attraction to each other and begin a world wind romance. The film is based on the book of the same name by Nicholas Sparks.

Year: 2016

Director: Ross Katz

Starring: Teresa Palmer, Benjamin Walker, Tom Welling, Alexandra Daddario and Maggie Grace.

I really didn’t like this film. It looked so promising but I just found it boring, especially the start of it. The last third of the film, the pace picked up and it got a bit more interesting. I just didn’t really connect with the characters and I didn’t really care about them. I had to finish, though. The pace was just none existent and I do like a slow film but this was just too plain. I couldn’t get into it at all. I now it’s by the same author as the person who wrote The Notebook but if you didn’t know that before watching this then you will know that after because there are so many similarities. I much prefer The Notebook to this film.

la-et-mn-the-choice-review-20160205.jpg

SPOILERS

The best part about this film is when Gabby has her car crash. They show it from inside the car and in slow motion and it’s just really cool to watch. I think I would have preferred the film if she’d died. It’s one of those films where I feel like I’ve wasted my time. There wasn’t anything special or shocking about it. There’re other films out there like this and I just felt incredibly let down.

Rating: 5/10.

Leave a Reply

