The Narnia Chronicles: The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe

Plot: During World War 2 4 siblings are sent to live elsewhere where they will be safe. Lucy, the youngest of the 4 gets bored and searches her new home, she finds a wardrobe which she climbs inside. Inside this wardrobe, she discovers a whole new world, called Narnia. She takes her siblings there with her and they spend a lot of time in that world where they meet a lion, who they help fight against an evil witch. The film is adapted from the novel of the same name by C.S. Lewis.

Year: 2005

Director: Andrew Adamson

Starring: Georgie Henley, Skandar Keynes, Anna Popplewell, William Moseley, James McAvoy, Tilda Swinton and Liam Neeson.

This is a childhood film for me, I think I was about 10 when I first watched it and I thought it was Magical. Kids are so gullible it’s easy to believe in a world like this. The escapism is so good. I loved Mr Tumnus, he’s like the favourite character for me. Obviously, I’m a fan of James McAvoy because he’s in X-Men and he was in the Shameless UK TV show but I didn’t know it was him who played Mr Tumnus until about a year ago. He’s amazing. It definitely doesn’t come close to Harry Potter but it’s such a beautiful world. I loved the snow and the Queen.

narnia14.jpg

I started reading the book but because I was only young I never finished it and I don’t think I’ll ever get round to reading it now but I’m sure the books are just as magical. I love this film, they did it really well but it just went downhill. The second one was okay but I didn’t enjoy it anywhere near as much as I did this one. After the second one when some of the cast didn’t return well it just got worse. I only rate the first film and I would recommend it to everyone, it’s fantastic and very fun to watch. You feel like you yourself goes on the adventure with these characters. That’s what makes it so special.

Rating: 7/10.

Tomorrow I will be reviewing Step Up 2: The Streets 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

