The Notebook

Plot: Set in the 1940’s, a poor boy meets a rich girl and they fall madly in love. Noah goes off to fight in the war whilst Allie has a relationship with another man. When he returns from war can she resist him?

Year: 2004

Director: Nick Cassavetes

Starring: Ryan Gosling, Rachel McAdams, James Garner, Gena Rowlands and James Marsden.

the_notebook_films_redonline.co.uk.jpg

This is one of my favourite romantic drama films and I’m not really keen on films been set in a different era  but I love it. I love Gosling and McAdams, I think their chemistry was brilliant and you could see it on screen. It’s such a beautiful story and quite heartbreaking but in a good way. There are some very rememberable scenes in this film that I’m sure people are very aware of. I didn’t cry at this film, I don’t think it really tears at you in that way. It does tug at the heart strings but I felt it made you happy rather than sad because they end up together even if it isn’t the happiest ending. But then nobody gets a happy ending because death is inevitable.

That’s the best part about this film, they get a bad happy ending. It’s a realistic one. It’s one that people can relate to. It’s a really beautiful film. They setting and costumes and acting really brings it to life.

Rating: 6/10.

Tomorrow I will review How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days 🙂

One thought on “The Notebook

Leave a Reply

