Taking Lives

Plot: A merciless serial killer is taking lives and stealing their identities. An FBI agent is brought in to investigate and sparks fly between herself and a key witness to one of the murders.

Year: 2004

Director: D. J. Caruso

Starring: Angelina Jolie, Ethan Hawke, Kiefer Sutherland, Oliver Martinez, Gena Rowlands and Paul Dano.

*SPOILERS*

I love this film, I’ve seen it twice now but the twist was great. I’m mean you can see it coming but at the end where she pretends, she’s pregnant just to catch the killer. That’s the bit I didn’t see coming. It’s such a dark and twisted film. The scene where she realises she’s been sleeping with the killer and goes home and scrubs her skin, it’s actually quite difficult to watch.

takingl-lives-promo003.jpg

This film always made me hate Ethan Hawke, the character is just horrible and unfortunately, for me it was the first film I saw with him in it. It’s sometimes hard not to judge an actor on the character but I’ve seen him in so many films now and he’s honestly a very talented actor.

There are a lot of shocking scenes in this film, particularly the scene in which Hawke’s character chops his own mother’s head off. That was really disturbing but that’s why I liked it. Disturbing films are great to watch, they’re so endearing.

Rating: 6.5/10 it’s not the strongest film I’ve seen in terms of story.

Tomorrow I will be reviewing The Sixth Sense 🙂

Leave a Reply

