Short Term 12

Plot: Grace looks after troubled teens whilst dealing with her own problems. When a new troubled teen comes along Grace is able to connect with her.

Year: 2013

Director: Destin Daniel Cretton

Starring: Brie Larson, John Gallagher Jr. Keith Stanfield, Kaitlyn Dever and Rami Malek.

ddlMODFJUjvhzrymuW7O7KPuhVL

What I love most about this film is that it’s based on the short film of the same name and even though it’s feature length it still has the feel of a short film. It’s very minimalistic which is what makes it so specially. It’s films like this that make me believe I can make films as they didn’t need a huge budget. This is a very special film because of it’s simplicity and the way it draws you into these characters and their story. I get why films like this are considered to be boring but it honestly wasn’t. I thought it was beautiful, it had a quiet, eerie feel to it. What I liked was how they ended it where they started, it was like all the characters came round full circle. I liked that they did that.

Rating: 7.5/10 because they kept it simple and I think it did the short film it was based on a lot of credit.

Tomorrow I will be reviewing Taking Lives 🙂

Leave a Reply

