X-Men: Apocalypse

Plot: Apocalypse is the first and most powerful mutant who awakens after thousands of years. He sets out on a journey to recruit other mutants that start a war between good and bad. The X-Men must, once again, fight for survival and save mankind from extinction.

Year: 2016

Director: Bryan Singer

Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, James McAvoy, Sophie Turner, Olivia Munn, Michael Fassbender, Oscar Isaac, Alexandra Shipp, Tye Sheridan, Nicholas Hoult, Evan Peters, Lucas Till, Rose Byrne, Kodi Smit-McPhee and Hugh Jackman.

xmen2.jpg

I can’t believe I haven’t written a review on this film yet as it’s one of my favourite franchises and I went to the cinema to see it when it was released. I thought it was insane. However, I don’t think anything can beat Days of Future Past, the storyline in that was fantastic and there was so much going on. In this one, the storyline was much simpler and there was a lot less going on. It was still an epic film, though. The fight sequences were great to watch.

The villain, Apocalypse was something new and exciting. I felt like it gave the franchise a fresh boost as it was something very different and very dangerous. I loved that they went back in time to with the characters from the first three films in a sense that they were young this time as we haven’t seen Storm or Jean in these later films as younglings yet. I loved seeing how they evolved and started out.

X-Men-Apocalypse-Mystique-Jennifer-Lawarence-and-Quicksilver-Evan-Peters-Hi-res

I’m so thankful Quicksilver was in it again and had more scenes. I love the Quicksilver in Avengers but I think Evan Peters’ is more comical and this version of the character is a lot more fun to watch. I love the scenes where everything has stopped and he runs around changing positions of things and people. It’s so exciting and actually quite hilarious to see.

I think the first three films in this franchise were great but the First Class, Days of Future Past and Apocalypse are so much better. I think that has a lot to do with the cast as well. It;s younger and got fresh talent. These later films appeal to a wider audience whereas the older films cast was a lot older so I think it appealed to an older audience.

X-Men-Apocalypse-preview.jpg

I’m quite disappointed with how this film has performed at the box office, grossing £400 million when it’s predecessor grossed £700 million. It’s quite a drop and I thought although the film wasn’t as good it still should have grossed more than that. However, they’re still planning a sequel which I’m pleased about but I don’t want them to kill the franchise by doing too much. The next film won’t be directed by Bryan Singer, which I’m not too bothered about as he hasn’t directed them all anyway. I really don’t want this franchise to end because it’s so good but I also don’t want them to destroy how good it is by making another film that doesn’t do so well. I’d rather them end on a high.

Rating: 6/10.

Tomorrow I will be reviewing Kill Bill Volume 1 🙂

Leave a Reply

