Oscars 2016

Best Picture:
The Big Short
Bridge of Spies
Brooklyn
Mad Max: Fury Road
The Martian
The Revenant
Room
Spotlight WINNER

I’ve slacked off a bit this year because I haven’t seen enough of these films listed above. I’ve only seen Mad Max and The Revenant so I can’t really say if I’m happy or not about the winning choice because I haven’t seen it. I’ve wanted to watch Room for ages so I think that’s what I will watch first out of these films.

Actor in a Leading Role:
Bryan Cranston – Trumbo
Matt Damon – The Martian
Leonardo Dicaprio – The Revenant WINNER
Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs
Eddie Redmayne – The Danish Girl

I’ve wanted Leo to get an Oscar for years now and it’s finally happened. I’m so pleased for him, he definitely deserves it for this film as he and the rest of the cast and the crew went through hell filming this film. I think it’s been a long time coming. I had a terrible feeling that Eddie Redmayne was going to get it for The Danish Girl as he’s been doing so well.

Actress in a Leading Role:
Cate Blanchett – Carol
Brie Larson – Room WINNER
Jennifer Lawrence – Joy
Charlotte Rampling – 45 Years
Saoirse Ronan – Brooklyn

Although I haven’t seen Room yet I’ve heard so much positive things about it, I’m really pleased that Brie Larson got the Oscar.

Other winners – 

Best Animation – Inside Out
I haven’t seen this because I don’t watch many animation films but it’s had a great reception from audiences.

Cinematography – The Revenant
I’m really pleased The Revenant won this Oscar because it was beautiful.

Costume Design – Mad Max: Fury Road
They definitely deserved to win in this category, the costumes in that film were stunning.

Directing – The Revenant
I agree with this choice, Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu put everything into this film.

Documentary – Amy
This film was bound to win, I’m pleased it did. I think she deserves it.

Best moments – 

For me, the Oscars was quite emotional this year. Leo’s speech was really touching and I loved that he mentioned Martin Scorsese as they’ve worked together on many films. I thought that was really sweet. I think it was just a really surreal moment.

The other emotional moment was Lady Gaga singing her really powerful song about rape and then having loads of rape survivors come out on stage. When I watched the performance I had goose bumps, the hairs on my arms were stood up. It was beautiful.

Leave a Reply

