The Revenant

While exploring the wilderness in 1820, Hugh Glass (Leonardo Dicaprio) is attacked by a bear and sustains serious wounds to his body. Thinking he’s not going to make it his team leave him and he must fight to survive to make it back to his family. Glass also seeks revenge on the man who betrayed him, John Fitzgerald (Tom Hardy). Also starring Will Poulter, Domhnall Gleeson and Lukas Haas. The film was inspired by true events.1401x788-the-revenant-DF-02339R_rgb.jpg

I don’t really know where to start with this film other than it’s one of the best films I’ve ever seen. It was just visually stunning. The acting was a privilege to view. The story was shocking and immense. It was two and half hours of pure brilliance. I’m so grateful that they made this film, it’s changed the way I look at films now. rev1.jpg

So there is always this thing about Leonardo Dicaprio never winning an Oscar, I definitely think he deserves one for this film. I look at his other films that were brilliant and think he deserved an Oscar for them but then I look at this film and he was just on a whole new level. You can tell he put everything into it and it really made the film 10 times better. the-revenant-scene3

I felt like I went through a lot of emotions through this film. It was just shocking and there were times where I felt extremely sad. I’ve never felt or rooted for a character so much before. The most shocking moment for me was when Glass climbed inside the horse’s stomach and slept there to stay warm. It’s more shocking because you think it’s vile but then you also think if you were in that situation what would you do? Would you freeze to death or do something as gruesome as that. It was just a really powerful film. You know you’ve watched a great film when the credits roll and you want more.

 

Leave a Reply

