The Virgin Suicides

In a quiet suburban town lives the beautiful Lisbon sisters who’s suicides, still to this day have people talking about. They’re five sisters who have really strict parents who struggle in the world where they are the subject of most boys affection. Starring Kirsten Dunst, Josh Hartnett, Kathleen Turner, James Woods, A J. Cook and Hayden Christensen. The film is based on the novel of the same name by Jeffrey Eugenides.large

I’ve seen this film twice and although it’s really interesting I do find it boring in places. I felt that the plot was dragged out a little too much. However, I  understand all the elements that were in the film as they were showing the lives of these five teenagers. I thought the way the film was shot was done really well especially at the end when it shows the deaths of the girls. They showed enough to shock the audience. the_virgin_suicides_8

I kind of feel like this is where some audiences go away and think about what actually happened the night they killed themselves. Like did they actually kill themselves or did Kirsten Dunst’s character kill them all and then kill herself as she was alive when they were all dead. I know a few people who believe this theory, but I think I’m going to stick with the title of the film.

Leave a Reply

