Dark Places

Libby Day (Charlize Theron) survives the masacre of her family as a young girl, 25 years later she confronts her memories about that fateful night and vows to uncover the truth about whether her brother really did murder their mother and two sisters. Also starring Chloe Grace Moretz, Nicholas Hoult, Christina Hendricks and Tye Sheridan.Dark Places Movie

The film is based on the book by Gillian Flynn, author of Gone Girl, of the same name. I found out about this through Chloe Grace Moretz because I’m a huge fan of hers, so when I heard about it I read up on it and it sounded really interesting. When I heard that the book was by the author of Gone Girl I instantly wanted to read it so I did and it was honestly one of the best books that I’ve ever read. I absolutely loved it, it was so addictive and I never wanted to put it down. The book is prefect for a holiday read.Dark-Places-Movie-2015-starring-Charlize-Theron-and-Nicholas-Hoult

As for the film, I really enjoyed it. Obviously films can’t include everything that happens in the books otherwise the films would be like 4 hours long so the film didn’t have everything but everything that did happen in the film happened in the book. They didn’t add anything new that wasn’t in the book which was good. I hate it when they add new stuff. I much prefer films that follow the books and stick with them. It was nice being able to read the book and then watch the film a week later.

I think the casting was perfect for the film and they all did the characters justice in the books. I couldn’t imagine anyone else playing them now. It’s a film that I would definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys watching mysteries. I also recommend the book too. I always think books are better than the films anyway. cdn.indiewire

*SPOILERS*

Throughout the film we watch Libby Day go in search for answers to try and convince everyone that her brother did really commit the murders but as she digs deeper and deeper she uncovers secrets that change everything and she starts having doubts. As well as following her we also follow her mother back in 1985 when the murders took place and you get to see everything that happens leading up to the murders. We also follow Ben Day, the brother convicted of the murders and we see everything that happens with him leading up to the murders. dark places movie-1

When reading the book I thought the murderer was going to be Ben’s girlfriend which it was. When you actually find out what happened that night, it’s just amazing. Diondra (Moretz), Ben’s girlfriend was the murderer but only of Michele and it was someone else that murdered Patty and Debbie. It was just brilliant and really entertaining to read and watch. Deux-nouveaux-stills-du-film-DARK-PLACES-avec-Chloë-Moretz-et-Tye-Sheridan-2

When everything comes out in the end you feel sorry for Ben because he didn’t kill anyone so he shouldn’t of gone to prison for that long. I also felt sorry for their mother because she’s the reason Debbie died. It’s just sad because none of those deaths needed to happen and if Ben had told the truth he would have been released earlier. It’s just a really gripping story. 563989_1.1

I think Gillian Flynn is someone to look out for. Gone Girl was fantastic and I will read the book at some point and then this book was great. I don’t think it’s anywhere near as good as Gone Girl but it’s still worth watching. She has one other published novel titled Sharp Objects which I’m looking forward to reading at some point, I think I’ll definitely be looking out for her future books too. gillian-flynn

Leave a Reply

